illustration
last five
-
effin wiped
leetle
fun and hatred
poo is a funny word
old
new
sign
aim
aim
diaryland
prev bite-me next random rings
prev tired next random
prev antipeople next random
prev brooklyn next random
prev baded-jitter next random
prev feminists next random
prev feminist next random
links
sign my guestbook, dammit:
onehanded prev | next
tin shack 01.30.02 - 8:02 pm

I am very, very tired.

Back from Jersey. Pooped. Very. Not enough sleep, up too early, long day, the works. More of that tomorrow, too. Ugh.

To talk a little more about that tinny voice.

It's easy to interpret that voice (for others, not for me) as instinct. This is not entirely true. I work almost entirely on instinct. I've mentioned before. I don't really think. Certainly not about talking or writing. It just comes. I'm fine with that, and it seems to work for me. Instinct and I are friends.

The voice is...hrm. The voice is a bit of something else. It's not completely different, not by any means. It's a part of it. But it's more...like...conscience? Not quite that either. Warning, I dunno.

The point I'm trying to get to here, although ineptly given my exhaustion, is that if I listened *always* to it, I would never give a shit about anyone. Um, that doesn't sound much like conscience, does it? Then not that. Something else. Is it right (the voice)? Mostly, yes. But that doesn't mean that I should always listen to it. Because sometimes it's right, but it's something that I can -- or should -- work through, or with.

What I do need to get better at is figuring *out* when to listen to it, rather than going wholesale in either direction.

Large Unnamed Corporation -- any corporation, large, really -- sure does employ some loonies. To abruptly change the subject.

We had a meeting today with Very Odd Programming Man, although admittedly there are extremely few not-odd programming men, but this one surpassed. It's like he learned proper things to say and has like flashcards he reads at night or something. And things out of sequence? NOT okay. We *must* proceed from question to question in an appropriately logical fashion. Not to mention never ever speaking to more than one person at a time. There's more but I'm over him now.

The guy that I'm mostly supposed to work with I'm afraid may be a little bit hopeless. He's supposed to be the Chief Architect.

Now, for those of you who aren't in my business. The thing that an architect is supposed to do is look at a problem -- in large corporations, typically *large*, bulbous, fuzzy problems -- and design an appropriate solution. Generally speaking, this requires, first, a fair amount of fluency with a range of software development methodologies, and, second, an approach that begins at the very high level and drills down, using necessary teams, to details.

This guy is lacking in both respects. As far as I can tell, his fluency with software development methodologies begins and ends with the clip art in powerpoint. He likes green arrows a lot. And he is completely and utterly incapable of looking at *anything* from a high level. He is, instead, the sort of person that instantly and immediately gravitates towards something that looks like it might be a possible solution, at the most granular level, and then proceeds to expound, at great length and in great detail, about this solution in meetings where we're trying very hard to discuss the general needs for the system.

I unfortunately most likely have to express these shortcomings to his boss tomorrow. Ruh-roh.

Ah. I'm obviously way too tired to be interesting. And I think I'm gonna give this 80's show a shot because I really like the music in the ads.

onehanded



















everything � 2001 me. all rights reserved. prev | next