illustration
last five
-
effin wiped
leetle
fun and hatred
poo is a funny word
old
new
sign
aim
aim
diaryland
prev bite-me next random rings
prev tired next random
prev antipeople next random
prev brooklyn next random
prev baded-jitter next random
prev feminists next random
prev feminist next random
links
sign my guestbook, dammit:
onehanded prev | next
you got me babe 02.09.02 - 6:30 pm

Feeling a bit better now, thanks. And thanks of course to all the sweet and lovely people who signed my guestbook. Special props to Cher who made me throw up in a fit of saccharinity (is that a word? should be), but of course after hurling my spleen into the potty I found myself in such a resulting fit of ever-loving goodness and happy land that I donned my sparkly pink tutu and tiara and pirouetted 'round the apartment in gleeful spasms, smacking everything with my glittery wand and pronouncing it Happy.

Got several funny looks from the Boy.

Also Boy came back after his very long two days of server-transporting and so we had some Quality Time, hence no update last night. Lest you be thinking something smutty, we were both too tired to do anything but watch television. I think we're getting old. Did finally finish Ghostworld though, which had me ransacking the apartment for the graphic novel which does not appear to be around. Irritating, that.

In the spirit of Not Being Left Out, I would appear to have successfully invited myself to the gathering in NC. The snag: the fucking train ride is TWELVE GODDAMN HOURS. The plane fares are for some reason so astronomically expensive that Imelda Marcos would blanch. Speaking of Imelda. Do we think that's a better nickname for TG? Nah. I think Cher works. Anyway Imelda's too evil.

So I think I am going to see if I can take a train at night and just sleep the whole way through. And, MG, when was the last time you took a train, 1946? There is no smoking on Amtrak, you silly. Certainly not on any of the trains I've been on. Drinking, yes. Maybe it's different if you're travelling for twelve goddamn hours, but otherwise no.

Apparently NC may involve driving. I am not looking forward to that. I try to avoid operating motor vehicles as much as humanly possible, and I am generally successful. I did not drive for one single minute on the way down to Florida. Happily Boy and Sister accepted my babysitting the pets in the backseat in grave discomfort due to the cold, large dog stomping on me, and need to balance the Tiny Marsupial in his kitty carrier on my knee because the floor of the car was so frigging cold I was terrified he would freeze to death if I left him down there as an worthy tradeoff for driving. Also I happily made all of the Mart expeditions in the very very cold to get them food and drinks and stuff.

Not that I can't drive. I can drive, and, in fact, well, when I have to. I just really don't like it. When I was younger I loved to drive and did it often, especially while living in CT where it is also not optional. I drove like a madperson, except that I was really, really fucking good at it. I did all those macho tricks designed to totally freak the fuck out of your passengers such as memorize the exact moment the lights changed on my usual routes so that if I was going to hit the light in enough time I wouldn't slow down (in rural CT there are many (most) times when there's not a backup at a light) and would blow through it .073 seconds after it turned green.

Then several bad things happened with me and cars, none resulting in any injury, thankfully, but I got a lot more grandma-esque in my driving. Not to such an extent that I will piss off other drivers, but I do things like obey speed limits, largely, and stuff like that. It also makes me really anxious. Especially in the city.

Another reason why the Boy and I are well-suited to one another: we both forgot completely about Valentine's Day and have an unspoken agreement (well, we have spoken about it, just that this will be VD #3 and we really don't need to have the conversation again) not to bother about it.

And we both hate beaches and tropical locations.

In other Marsupial news, Girl and Boy are now living together. I thought it would take longer, but Boy went into her cage last night (well, I put him there. Not like he operated the latches with his little tiny hands or anything) and she was still in her pouch and he went in there with her, and they spent the next many hours talking to one another -- they click, like talking -- and every attempt I made to dislodge either of them was met with very loud screaming and general upset by both of them. And I figured that she's yelled at him in the past when he makes her mad, and I would hear it if he pissed her off. They are still in their little pouch together, sleeping now.

So I suppose that's that. When they're up and Boy is in his separate cage it's quite pathetic, he paces -- if you can call it pacing, since it's around the whole cage, not just on the floor -- and if I go over there he grabs two bars with his hands (they are hands, with opposable thumbs and everything) and sticks his face through the bars like pleading with me to please please let him go see his girlfriend just like a little tiny prisoner. So I have been letting them spend a lot of time together. Mostly I was afraid he would hurt her somehow, but he just seems to be totally in love. Tiny Marsupials are just about the cutest things in the entire universe to begin with, and the two of them together beat all other cute things around the block, let me tell you. You can practically see little cartoon hearts over their heads.

I think I'm settling on Muriel. I believe that was Shiv's suggestion, for which we are all grateful. Lucy is still a possibility but it does seem a little too cute. Or wait, maybe not. I just checked the guestbook. I could have sworn somebody in the guestbook suggested Muriel. Help me, people, speak up, who was it? Sylvia is still a possibility. But I'm leaning towards Muriel. Votes?

Oh, and remember possibly crushing client representative? I have accepted an invitation to go see him play harmonica at a Bar tonight. BUT I am bringing at least one friend, if not two, which I figure should offset any potential flirty vibes that might have been incurred by me alone there. Boy cannot come as he is still coping with server things. He is a nice enough guy, and seems rather of the not particularly forceful or overbearing sort, so I'm hoping that if I can just manage not to respond to any crushy vibes I can escape any nastiness down the line.

Besides, I can't *remember* the last time that I went to see someone play music and I actually do kind of want to. Actually, yes I can. It was over a year and a half ago when my Ex-Boy was playing in the city and me and Boy and a couple of others went to go see him. I've mentioned our astonishing maturity, right?

So I will be on AIM later tonight, although possibly slightly tipsily so. And, as I mentioned in ze guestbook de Bot, of course I don't hate you. I think our online schedules have been conflicting, given both of our busy levels.

Well, that was all kinds of rambling and disjointed. Eh. They call me...
onehanded

everything � 2001 me. all rights reserved. prev | next